Black rice pudding pots…

IMG_0239

Sorry for the terribly long break in the blogging. Writing a dissertation and a major exam got in the way and after writing 10,000 words over a 2 months or so I couldn’t face any more writing… But I seem to have recovered now!

As it’s January I’ve gone down the predictable healthy route but I’m rather enjoying it thanks to Jamie Oliver’s ‘Everyday Superfood’ book. It’s full of really inspiring, tasty and exciting recipes and I have been making a few and they’ve been very successful. My only mild complaint would be that you seem to need an endless array of exotic ingredients for some of the recipes. However it does give me the excuse to spend hours in Wholefoods Market and the like so I don’t mind too much!

So this is the recipe (slightly edited) for black rice pudding pots from Jamie Oliver’s book. They’re really delicious and nutritious (I hear Brian Butterfield’s voice in my head every time I say that phrase…) and can be made in advance and stored in the fridge for a quick breakfast.

It took me ages to find the black rice for the recipe. Everywhere I went they just tried to sell me wild rice which is a dark brown colour but has really long grains. I finally found ‘Black Venus Rice’ by Biona at Wholefoods which works.


Black Rice Pudding Pots 

Makes 2 pots                                                                                                                                                         Takes ~50 minutes

Ingredients 

  • 100g Black Venus Rice
  • 1 mango
  • 1/2 lime
  • 200ml nut milk (used almond)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • Honey (optional)
  • Toppings: Crushed nuts, coconut flakes, fresh fruit, yogurt etc.

Method

  1. Rinse the rice well.
  2. In a small saucepan bring 200ml of water to the boil, add the rice, stir well, cover and simmer for 45 minutes. Drain and leave to cool.
  3. Peel and de-stone the mango and chop into a blender, add the lime juice and blitz until smooth. Pour into a bowl and set aside.
  4. Peel and break the banana into the blender, add the nut milk, two-thirds of the rice and blitz until smooth. If it’s not sweet enough add a little honey and blitz again.
  5. Stir the remaining black rice into the blended rice mix.
  6. Spoon the rice mix into 2 pots or glasses and spoon over the blitzed mango and scatter on your chosen toppings or just leave it as it is!
  7. Enjoy! x

IMG_0240

 


Leave a comment